Part One: The Province of Apayao

30 01-2019

Good Harvest, the company that aims to put the Philippines in the world map of cacao producers, chose Apayao to be their base of operations. The basic reason why can be found in the history of Good Harvest, but in this series of articles, we further explore and showcase what this province has in store for the chocolate-loving people of the world!

First, A Brief History of Apayao

In the early 1600s, Spanish Friars established a mission in what is now known as Pudtol but was unsuccessful in maintaining control in the whole Apayao territory due to the constant uprising of the indigenous Isneg. On August 13, 1908, with the enactment of Act No. 1876 by the Philippine Commission, the Americans established the Lepanto-Bontoc Province which was composed of the sub-province of Apayao along with the Cordillera highlands.

On February 4, 1920, by virtue of Act. No. 2772, the Lepanto-Bontoc Province was reorganized into the Mountain Province, which was composed of Apayao, Benguet, Bontoc, Ifugao and Kalinga. It was then divided into four autonomous provinces, merging Apayao and Kalinga into one.

On July 15, 1987, Executive Order No. 220 was issued and signed by then President Corazon C. Aquino, creating the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) which included Kalinga-Apayao.

On February 14, 1995, Republic Act No. 7878 authored by Congressman Elias K. Bulut of the lone district of Kalinga-Apayao was passed splitting the province into two separate and regular provinces: Kalinga and Apayao. The inauguration of the new province of Apayao was held on Aug. 1, 1995.

Apayao on the map of the Philippines

Apayao is a part of the Cordillera Administrative Region located in the northernmost tip of the Luzon mainland, bordered in the east by Cagayan, on the west by Ilocos Norte and Abra and by Kalinga on the south. The province got its name from the warm water of the rivers that interweave in the region where most of the early inhabitants settled.

Administrative Divisions

The province is composed of seven municipalities namely Calanasan, Conner, Flora, Kabugao (the capital), Luna, Pudtol and Sta. Marcela. Upper Apayao with 3 municipalities occupies 67.2% of the total land area while Lower Apayao have 4 municipalities comprising 32.8% of the total land area.

Apayao Climate

The prevailing climate in the province is characterized by not very pronounced dry and wet seasons, relatively dry from November to April and wet during the rest of the year. Heaviest rain occurs during December to February while the month of May is the warmest.

That’s all for now. In part two of our feature about Apayao, we will be showcasing the land features of this beautiful province, and how it can help Good Harvest reach their goals.

Good Harvest aims to provide the best cacao in the country, and in the region, by ensuring productivity and involving the community with respect to the environment.


Sources: Philippine Statistics Authority 

               Department of Interior and Local Government – Cordillera Autonomous Region

Related article

  • 16 08-2019
    Cacao Varieties in the Philippines
    • Blogs
    • Comments Off on Cacao Varieties in the Philippines

    Cacao Industry has been gaining recognition in the domestic and export markets as the supply and demand gap of cocoa beans is increasing. International demand for cacao has nearly tripled since 1970, growing at an…

  • 10 07-2019
    Cacao, Cocoa and Chocolate

    Chocolate is one of, if not the most, popular food type in the world. As a snack, you can see it in its various forms, particularly desserts such as candy bars, cakes and pastries. It…

  • 13 06-2019
    Organic and Sustainable Farming

    In this day and age of health-concerned individuals and environmental issues, you’d often hear the words “organic” and “sustainable” whenever companies talk about the raw food ingredients and products that they promote, but are they…


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *